Best New Albums This Month

After what felt like a lifetime without fresh new music, July and August are finally giving us the good stuff. We’ve rounded up our favourite new releases and what’s still to come this month.

The Streets “None Of Us Are Getting Out of This Life Alive”

Released: 10th July 2020

Back with a bang after 9 years, the new mixtape from The Streets was released 10th July 2020 and has received a mass of positive reviews. Comprising collaborations with many different artists, Mike Skinner hilariously dubbed the release as an “album of rap duets” but we think it’s actually a mixtape of masterpieces. With witty lyrics and toe tapping tunes on every track it was hard to narrow down our favourites.

Our Top 2 Tracks: Take Me As I Am (feat. Chris Lorenzo); I Wish You Loved You As Much As You Love Him (feat. Donae’O & Greentea Peng)

DMAs “The Glow”

Released: 10th July 2020

Also released 10th July “The Glow” is the third studio album by Australian trio DMA’s. Though Austrlian, the DMAs are a typical Britpop band with a sound similar to Oasis, Stone Roses and U2. With their new album exploring new genres on some tracks with hints of electronic and rock it has received mostly positive criticism and climbed to number 4 in the UK charts. It’s without a doubt worth a listen.

Our Top 2 Tracks: Silver; Strangers

Biffy Clyro “A Celebration of Endings”

Released: August 14th 2020

The upcoming album will be the bands 9th studio album and was scheduled for release in May but due to coronavirus it has been pushed back until August. The alternative rock band have given us a taster into what to expect with three of the album’s singles being released earlier this year. Instant History, End Of and Tiny Indoor Fireworks all vary in sound and from what lead singer Simon Neil has said, the whole album represents the band as well as society as a whole.

Our Favourite Track So Far: Tiny Indoor Fireworks

The Killers “Imploding the Mirage”

Released: August 21st 2020

Scheduled to be released in August, Imploding the Mirage will be the American rock band’s sixth studio album. This is the first album without founding guitarist Dave Keuning, and making it “proved much more difficult than they imagined”. However, lead single Caution has already been a hit, topping the charts in America and although only entered the UK charts this week we don’t think it will be long until it becomes a chart topper here too. Other singles already released include Fire in Bone and My Own Soul’s Warning.

Our Favourite Track So Far: Caution

Disclosure “ENERGY”

Released: August 28th 2020

The Disclosure duo are back with their third studio album titled “ENERGY” and will be their first full album release since 2015. The album comprises various collaborations with artists like Kelis, Khalid and Slowthai and offers a huge 20 tracks on their deluxe edition, five of which have already been released. Expect a mixture of UK garage, deep house and a whole lot of energy.

Our Favourite Tracks So Far: Know Your Worth (feat. Khalid); Douha (Mali Mali) (feat. Fatouma Diawara)

More to Look Forward To…

If that isn’t enough to keep us going for the rest of the year we have even more new music to look forward to. With Nothing But Thieves, Kendrick Lamar and Kanye set to release albums later this year. Watch this space…


Nothing But Thieves “Moral Panic” (out October 23rd)

Kanye “Donda: With Child” (date TBA)

Kendrick Lamar (title and date TBA)

You May Also Like